Jimmy Buffett is a Billionaire

Micah Ward
4 min readJul 8, 2023

But some people complain that he sold out.

Photo by stevosdisposable on Unsplash

Forbes magazine, the official scorekeeper of these things, says that Jimmy Buffett is a billionaire. Yep, that’s billionaire with a capital B.

The Mayor of Margaritaville has entered that rarified air breathed only by those whom Bernie Sanders refers to when he is on an anti — billionaire tirade. Bernie used to rant and rave against “millionaires and billionaires” but now that he is one of the former, he only hell hacks the later.

But I digress.

Jimmy Buffett is indeed a billionaire and I say good for him. But I have heard some criticize him for “selling out”. Let’s consider this idea of “selling out”.

Whenever I think of that idea, I envision an artist that has abandoned a deep philosophical truth or the excellence of their art in order to cash in on money. They sacrifice their enlightenment and produce a lesser product simply to obtain more of the filthy lucre.

But Buffett? Not so much.

Now, please do not think that I am bashing Buffett. On the contrary, I have been a Jimmy Buffett fan since 1974 when I first heard Come Monday on my car’s AM radio. I rushed out and bought all the Buffett eight tracks I could find and completely emersed myself in his music. It is not an exaggeration to say that…

--

--

Micah Ward

Micah is a retiree who writes, runs, prays and enjoys craft beer in the rolling hills of central Tennessee. He goes to the ocean when he can.